• Nanna Brix Finnerup, Denmark I Conference Chair

    Nanna Brix Finnerup, Denmark I Conference Chair

    Prof. Nanna Brix Finnerup is director of the Danish Pain Research Center, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Denmark. She graduated from the Medical School at Aarhus University 1993, and after internship worked at the department of Neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology at the University of Copenhagen. 

  • Jonathan Brooks, UK

    Jonathan Brooks, UK

    Dr Jonathan Brooks is based at the University of Bristol in the School of Psychological Science, where he works with a variety of clinical and basic scientists on research questions relating to pain. Since 2001 he has been working in the field of pain imaging, initially in Liverpool with Professor Turo Nurmikko and later with Professor Irene Tracey in Oxford. 

  • Margarita Calvo, Chile

    Margarita Calvo, Chile

    Margarita Calvo is an associate professor at the Department of Physiology, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Santiago. She undertook her medical training at this same institution. She was awarded her PhD in 2010 by King’s College London, UK, working at Prof David Bennett’s lab. She went back to Chile in 2013 where she set her own lab.
  • Mario Campero, Chile

    Mario Campero, Chile

    • Neurology at Universidad de Chile 1990
    • Fellowship in Neuromuscular disorders & pain.  Neuromuscular Unit, OHSU, Oregon 1991-1994
    • Associate Professor, Department of Neurology, Universidad de Chile

  • Patrick Dougherty, USA

    Patrick Dougherty, USA

    Patrick Dougherty is the H.E.B. Professor of Cancer Research and the Associate Division Head for Research in the Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. The research in his laboratory has focused on gaining an understanding of the neurochemical and physiological consequences of peripheral and neural injury or inflammation on neural activity in the CNS. 
  • Rainer Freynhagen, Germany

    Rainer Freynhagen, Germany

    Professor Rainer Freynhagen is a specialist in anaesthesiology, intensive care, pain management, palliative care and sports medicine. He studied medicine in Germany, Switzerland and Great Britain and completed his studies 1992 at the Heinrich-Heine-University in Düsseldorf. 
  • Per Hansson, Norway

    Per Hansson, Norway

    Per Hansson, MD, DMSci, DDS, is a senior consultant, specialist in neurology and pain medicine at the Dept. of Pain Management and Research, Oslo University Hospital, Oslo, Norway and a professor of clinical pain research at Dept. of Molecular Medicine and Surgery, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden. 
  • Aki J. Hietaharju, Finland

    Aki J. Hietaharju, Finland

    Dr Aki J. Hietaharju received his university degrees and medical training at the University of Tampere, Tampere, Finland. He completed specialist training in neurology in 1991. He currently works as a Chief of the Neurological Outpatient Clinic at Tampere University Hospital and also acts as Adjunct Professor of Neurology at the Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences, University of Tampere. His clinical and research interest focuses on connective tissue diseases, immune mediated neuropathies, leprosy and neuropathic pain.
  • Janneke G.J. Hoeijmakers, Netherlands

    Janneke G.J. Hoeijmakers, Netherlands

    Dr. Janneke G.J. Hoeijmakers is a neuromuscular neurologist at the Maastricht University Medical Center, Maastricht, the Netherlands. Her PhD thesis was about sodium channelopathies in small fiber neuropathy. The paper ‘Gain of function NaV1.7 mutations in idiopathic small fiber neuropathy’ was awarded with the Prinses Beatrix Spierfonds year prize and granted with the 2013 Annals of Neurology Prize ‘for a distinguished contribution to clinical neuroscience’. 
  • Simon Haroutounian, USA

    Simon Haroutounian, USA

    Simon Haroutounian has received his B.Sc.Pharm degree (Magna Cum Laude) in 2002, and his Master’s degree in Clinical Pharmacy (Magna Cum Laude) in 2005, both from The Hebrew University in Jerusalem School of Pharmacy. After working for 2 years as a clinical pharmacist in Intensive Care Unit, he pursued his PhD in pharmaceutical science / translational pain research at The Hebrew University, graduating in 2011.
  • Harriet Kemp, UK

    Harriet Kemp, UK

    Dr Kemp is an National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Lecturer with the Pain Research Group at Imperial College London. Clinically she works as an anaesthetic registrar in the Imperial School of Anaesthesia. Having completed an NIHR Academic Clinical Fellowship in Anaesthetics, Dr Kemp was appointed to the NeuroPain Grant to investigate pain in patients with HIV. 
  • Rohini Kuner, Germany

    Rohini Kuner, Germany

    Rohini Kuner is a Full Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology and the Director of the Institute for Pharmacology, Medical Faculty Heidelberg, Heidelberg University, Germany. She was trained in pharmacology, neuroscience and mouse genetics at the University of Iowa City, USA, the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Heidelberg and Heidelberg University. 
  • Srinivasa N. Raja, USA

    Srinivasa N. Raja, USA

    Srinivasa N. Raja, M.D. is Professor of Anesthesiology and Neurology and Director of Pain Research at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Raja received his residency training in Anesthesiology at the University of Washington, Seattle, and post-doctoral training at the University Of Virginia School Of Medicine, Charlottesville.  

  • Andrew S.C. Rice, UK

    Andrew S.C. Rice, UK

    Andrew S.C. Rice MB BS, MD, FRCP, FRCA, FFPMRCA, FFPMCAI is Professor of Pain Research at Imperial College London, where he is engaged in translational research and clinical practice in neuropathic pain. He received his medical degree from St. Mary’s Hospital Medical School in 1982 and his research doctorate from St. Thomas’ Hospital Medical School in 1991. 
  • Troels Staehelin Jensen, Denmark

    Troels Staehelin Jensen, Denmark

    Troels Staehelin Jensen, MD, DMSc is professor and former chair of the Department of Neurology, Aarhus University Hospital, founder and past director of the Danish Pain Research Center  at Aarhus University  and currently Director of the International Diabetic Neuropathy Center at Aarhus University, Denmark. 
  • Thomas R. Tölle, Germany

    Thomas R. Tölle, Germany

    Thomas  R. Tölle  is a  Professor of Neurology at the Technische Universität München, Germany. He is a neurologist and psychologist by training. He was formerly also appointed as Professor of Medical Psychology and Neurobiology at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich. 

  • Signe Vogel, Denmark

    Signe Vogel, Denmark

    Anthropologist Signe Vogel is currently working at the Danish Pain Research Center, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Denmark. She is conducting a qualitative study exploring how people suffering from diabetic neuropathy experience everyday life as it becomes more and more engulfed with unwanted sensations such as numbness and pain.
  • Mark Wallace, USA

    Mark Wallace, USA

    Dr. Wallace is currently a Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology and the Chair, Division of Pain Medicine in the Department of Anesthesiology, UCSD School of Medicine and the Director, Division of Clinical Research in the UCSD Clinical and Translational Institute (CTRI).  He is sub-investigator for the NIH Clinical and Translational Science Award which supports the CTRI.  Dr. Wallace is experienced in all phases of clinical trials including systemic and interventional therapies.